Monday, December 18, 2006

Dion shadow cabinet: revisited

I did a rather hashed together job because I was bored on my last attempt, and there were some obvious omissions. So here I am again, starting from stratch.

I maintain that a smart shadow cabinet will have 27 members just as the government cabinet does, thus this will be my prediction.

As of today, we know that the top two jobs go to Mr. Dion and Michael Ignatieff. For the other 25, I will begin by assembling a list of people and then assign portfolios.

First, the former leadership candidates who are members of the Commons:

  • Ken Dryden (ON)

  • Scott Brison (NS)

  • Joe Volpe (ON)

  • Maurizio Bevilacqua (ON)

  • Carolyn Bennett (ON)

  • Hedy Fry (BC)

Then the supporters of Mr. Dion's campaign:

  • Sue Barnes (ON)

  • Coleen Beaumier (ON)

  • Bonnie Brown (ON)

  • Charlie Hubbard (NB)

  • Marlene Jennings (QC)

  • Nancy Karetak-Lindell (NU)

  • Glen Pearson (ON)

  • Francis Scarpaleggia (QC)

  • Paul Steckle (ON)

  • Bryon Wilfert (ON)

(Unfortunately Charlie misses because of Dominic LeBlanc's rising status as the star of New Brunswick; Pearson though a hero and the one who introduced Dion at the convention is new and from Ontario; Sources tell me Scarpaleggia is not ready for prime time; I reluctantly cut Beaumier and Wilfert as they were the only ones I thought I could cut, while Steckle was cut as rumour has it he is not running again)

Then the supporters of Gerard Kennedy's campaign who followed him to Dion:

  • Omar Algharbra (ON)

  • Navdeep Bains (ON)

  • Brenda Chamberlain (ON)

  • Raymond Chan (BC)

  • Mark Holland (ON)

  • Brent St. Denis (ON)

  • Borys Wrzesnewskyj (ON)

(Ms. Chamberlain has announced she is not running again; Ontario getting heavy and Borys made some earlier controversial remarks so he misses the cut)

Then appropriate supporters of runner up Michael Ignatieff's campaign:

* As there are too many, will choose these based on talent, regional fits

  • Ruby Dhalla

  • Wayne Easter

  • Massimo Pacetti

Then supporters of other leadership candidates who endorsed Dion on later ballots:

  • Sen. Joan Cook

  • Mark Eyking

  • Anita Neville

  • Tina Keeper

  • Mike Savage

(Mr. Eyking doesn't make it because of too many other Nova Scotians in line)

Then supporters of Bob Rae's campaign who endorsed Dion on the final ballot:

  • Ujjal Doshanjh (BC)

  • John Godfrey (ON)

  • Ralph Goodale (SK)

  • Susan Kadis (ON)

  • Jimmy Karygiannis (ON)

(Jimmy K brings too much baggage to find him a spot in a small shadow cabinet)

The neutral players who deserve key roles:

  • Ray Bonin (ON)

  • Dominic LeBlanc (NB)

  • Karen Redman (ON)

  • Lucienne Robillard (QC)

The Shadow Cabinet

The Hon. St├ęphane Dion
Leader of the Official Opposition

Michael Ignatieff
Deputy Leader of the Opposition

Omar Algharbra
Public Works & Government Services

The Hon. Navdeep Bains
International Cooperation

The Hon. Sue Barnes

The Hon. Carolyn Bennett
Human Resources & Social Development

The Hon. Maurizio Bevilacqua

Bonnie Brown

The Hon. Raymond Chan
International Trade / Multiculturalism / Pacific Gateway

The Hon. Joan Cook, Senator
Leader of the Opposition in the Senate

Ruby Dhalla
National Revenue

The Hon. Ujjal Dosanjh
Intergovernmental Affairs

The Hon. Ken Dryden
National Defence

The Hon. Wayne Easter
Agriculture & Agri-Food

The Hon. Hedy Fry
Citizenship & Immigration / 2010 Olympics & Sport

The Hon. John Godfrey

The Hon. Ralph Goodale
Foreign Affairs / Wheat Board

Mark Holland
Treasury Board / Accountability & Ethics

The Hon. Marlene Jennings
Public Safety

The Hon. Susan Kadis
Transport, Infrastructure & Communities

Nancy Karetak-Lindell
Northern Development

Tina Keeper
Canadian Heritage / Western Economic Diversification

The Hon. Dominic LeBlanc
House Leader

The Hon. Anita Neville
Aboriginal Affairs / Status of Women

Massimo Pacetti

The Hon. Lucienne Robillard
Labour / Economic Development Agency for Quebec / La Francophonie & Official Languages

Mike Savage
Fisheries & Oceans / Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency

Brent St. Denis
Veterans Affairs / Federal Economic Initiative for Northern Ontario

The Hon. Joe Volpe
Natural Resources

+ an additional 3 ex-officio members:

Ray Bonin
National Caucus Chair

The Hon. Scott Brison
Question Period Coordinator

The Hon. Karen Redman
Chief Opposition Whip


Anonymous said...

This is really good! However, I can't really see Pacetti in Finance. And I don't understand for the life of me--while he probably will get a good job--why Wayne Easter keeps being brought back. I thought he looked terrible in QP.

Anonymous said...

I don't think Karetak-Lindel is running again, due to family concerns, I think that you may have meant to say Larry Bagnell for Northern Affairs. That is, if he wants to do it.

nbpolitico said...

Pacetti was well regarded as Finance Committee chairman and I get the impression that Dion wants to empower the talent among youthful MPs and push away much of the "old guard".

Haven't heard that about Karetak-Lindel, but if not her, I think it would go to Tina Keeper not to Bagnell.

JL said...

Massimo Pacetti is very well regarded in Finance circles. To me that is a no-brainer and would be a great decision.

Unfortunately, the rest of the shadow cabinet seems to be made up of no-brainers as well.. :) The Liberal Party really needs to inject some new talent.

Anonymous said...

What? Does the Liberal Party lack that much talent that it fills positions requiring in depth knowledge with people of backgrounds that are entirely unsuitable?

Please, try again, and much harder. This would be a shameful, shameful cabinet that would only serve to embarrass the leader.

nbpolitico said...

What? Does the Liberal Party lack that much talent that it fills positions requiring in depth knowledge with people of backgrounds that are entirely unsuitable?

I am not sure what you are talking about. Could you give an example?

Harrap said...

Glen Pearson will be in the shadow cabinet in my opinion. He introduced Dion at the convention and bringing someone new into the shadow cabinet is a sign of renewal - especially Pearson who's victory was a feel-good event for the Liberals.

There are other instances of new MPs or MLAs being named to key spots -- Jack Keir for example was named to head a department that forms a cornerstone of Shawn Graham's platform.

Anonymous said...

What about Belinda